My fabulous day
Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2003 :: 1:27 p.m.

Let me tell you about the fabulous day I had yesterday.

So, it's happened. The first of my friends is getting married. On August 30th, to be exact. Her name is Kim. And yesterday I got to help pick out a wedding dress.

So we got up early and packed 5 girls in a truck and drove to the nicest bridal boutique in town. We wandered around for a while on the main floor, looking at graduation dresses and reminiscing of high school. Then the saleslady came up to us and the minute we said "We're looking for a wedding dress" dollar signs appeared in her eyes and she smiled kind of grotesquely and waved the way up the sacred stairs to the upper floor where all the wedding paraphernalia was.

Upstairs everything was painted in pinks and pastels and miles and miles of white fabric and pearls and sequins lay as far as the eye could see.

It was horrifying. Hands down, the scariest place on earth. 5 minutes in that room rendered me blind for the rest of the day.

So five girls descended upon the racks of white clouds and pulled out billions of dresses for the bride-to-be to try on.

Then we sat on these cushy couches and laughed at Kim as she vainly attempted to do up the many buttons on the back of the dresses.

I always thought picking out one's gown was a rather sacred event. The saleslady would offer you chocolate. Your sophisticated friends would sit in the corner sipping champagne and purr, "That's simply fabulous, dharling!" about every dress you tried on.

But in reality, we sat and talked about boobs and vaginas and if we didn't like a dress Kim tried on we boo'd and stomped our feet.

It was like a hockey game. Only fancier.

After, we went out for drinks and tried to get the other bridesmaids roaring drunk.

Classy!

........................................

My friend Kim. I love her to bits. We met in grade nine when during orientation we were told to write room numbers down. Always the disorganized one, I had forgotten to bring paper, pens, and probably my pants. Kim shyly offered me her pencil and we've been friends ever since.

About a year and a half ago Kim was diagnosed with cancer. Hodgkin's Lymphoma.

Since then she has amazed me every single day. She is the strongest person I will ever have the privilege of being friends with. She's my idol. If I can someday be only half the woman she is, I will count myself lucky.

Last week the doctors told her that her cancer was incurable. She's been through chemo and radiation numerous times, along with a stem cell transplant and still the cancer has persevered.

This is a girl who's life was all set out for her. She graduated college and started her dream job. She was engaged to be married. She planned for kids. And then she was diagnosed with cancer and her whole life turned upside down.

Her struggle to be healthy has changed how everyone around her views the world.

Those doctors know nothing. Who are they to predict what life will bring? There is always hope. And there will always be miracles. And out of anybody in the world, this girl deserves one, and I pray for it all the time.

I wish her all the happiness in the world.

........................................

In the evening I went to my grandma and step-grandfather's ten-year anniversary.

10 years ago they met at a dance at the 55+ Centre and waltzed into each other's hearts. 2 weeks after they met, grandma was engaged. They married at the age of 67 and 75 in the tiniest church I'd ever seen amidst the rolling green hills of Alberta. The bride and groom dressed up as cowboys and rode a horse-driven carriage. I was 12 years old, and because her father couldn't be there I gave the bride away.

Yesterday we took them out for Chinese food. Not very fancy, huh? But it's their favourite food, and I'd never seen one guy pack away so much chow mein my whole life.

10 years later my grandma and step-grandfather still act like teenagers with each other. They hold hands under the table. Wink at each other over their drinks. I wish with all my heart I have love like that when I am 85.

All around me in my life is inspiration. And I recognize it more and more every day.

As a side note, I also found out that one of my hidden talents is eating rice with chopsticks. It's hard. And I RULE at it. I'm a rice eating chopstick wielding machine!

........................................

Then last night I went shopping and bought the best pants EVER. Seriously. They make my ass look like god. When at one time my ass would jiggle when it was supposed to shake, now it shakes like I am the Booty Queen.

I am in love with my new pants.

And that was my day.




<<::>>
The progression of time. - Saturday, Nov. 03, 2007
A year later... - Friday, Aug. 04, 2006
I'm an Irish hooker with an apple obsession - Thursday, Apr. 14, 2005
Ending this interruption of time - Friday, Feb. 18, 2005
Kim - Sunday, Nov. 07, 2004





navigate

current
archive
book

book
about

profile
bio
extras

rings
reviews
design
host