Adventures in kindergarten
2002-02-16 :: 1:23 p.m.

6 more sleeps until I go home for study week!!! Yeee!

So yesterday we got sent to an elementary school to observe 5 year olds at play. Then we had to pick one and ask them 6 pages of questions. 6 pages!*!#!& I wouldn't sit around to be interviewed that long, nevermind a 5 year old. You ended up having to accost them while they were doing a puzzle and grill them about their nutrition and stress levels before they got keen on what you were doing and wandered away.

But it's not like you can actually take their word for things, anyway. For example, "Do you get sick a lot?" "Yes" "Are you sick right now?" "No." "Have you been sick since Christmas?" "No." "Do you remember the last time you were sick?" "No." "But you get sick a lot?" "Yes."

I was partnered up with a little boy with a crooked grin and his 2 front teeth missing. He was absolutely adorable. Well, absolutely adorable until of course I pulled the corniest joke known to man. You know the, "Gimme five, up high, down low, too slow" joke? Ok, maybe "joke" is too harsh a term. This high five game should have been shot long ago, and here I am reviving it amoung our nations youth. I blame my stepfather and his eternal need to be corny affliction. Anyway, it turns out they have a NEW spin on this now. So after I was done, he goes, "Oh yeah? Gimme five, down low. Now up high by the rainbow." I gave him five. "You're a LAMEBOW!"

A lamebow? I protest! I'm hip. I'm cool. However, about 6 of my classmates heard this, and got a great laugh. Lamebow. Pfft!

I got a great kick out of snacktime. Remember snacktime? For me, the teacher would come around with those little square cheesy crackers, some marble cheese, and juiceboxes. Now kids pack their own snacks. My kid had a couple of cookies, a chocolate, and juice. The kid next to him had some cookies and a banana. The kid next to him had a slab of ham. A HUGE slab of ham. No crackers, no bread...Just ham. So here that poor kid is, gnawing on this side of ham like a little trooper, while kids around him are eating cookies. Keep in mind, this is a SNACK. They have already had lunch! To give him credit, the kid was huge for his age. He looked like he should have been 10. I imagine it's not unusual that he gets large animal parts packed in his lunchbag.

Then one of them dropped a jellybean on the ground and lamented, for it was his last jellybean. I informed him about the 10 second rule, whereas food that has been on the ground for less than 10 seconds is still good. However, I got a stern look from my teacher. Apparently it's not very student nurse-like to tell a child to eat things off the floor. I agree. But a jellybean? Come on. At least it wasn't yogurt.

On another note, I think watching that t.v. show The Crocodile Hunter has ruined me. You know, the one with that hilarious Australian man who wrestles with any animal he happens to find. I dreamt of strolling through Australia and coming across a crocodile. Instead of running, like a normal person, I instead went, "Crankies! Look at the size of that croc! Watch while I jump on his back and roll around in the muck!"

Don't watch the crocodile hunter before bedtime.




<<::>>
The progression of time. - Saturday, Nov. 03, 2007
A year later... - Friday, Aug. 04, 2006
I'm an Irish hooker with an apple obsession - Thursday, Apr. 14, 2005
Ending this interruption of time - Friday, Feb. 18, 2005
Kim - Sunday, Nov. 07, 2004





navigate

current
archive
book

book
about

profile
bio
extras

rings
reviews
design
host