Drunk driver
Tuesday, Sept. 17, 2002 :: 11:40 p.m.

An hour and a half ago, my life almost changed.

Today was Ryan's birthday. We went out for dinner. Went to pick up my car that I'd left at my mom's, and headed for home. I got home first. Sat on the steps, lit a cigarette. Ryan pulled up. Parked in the spot that is usually mine, except for the fact that after my car got broken into, I don't feel safe parking my car on the road anymore. He got out, walked over. Sat down.

We heard a sound, like a bomb had gone off. Turned around. The truck was 6 feet down the road, the end of it crushed. A car sat halfway on the sidewalk, the whole front end crashed in. Squealing of tires, he was trying to get away. Trying to put it in gear. The car was too broken. 10 neighbours, gathered around. The man gets out of the car, disoriented, stumbles.

"I know that guy!" I hear from the man next to me. "Hey Bob!" he says to the driver. "Oh...hey...Is that pizza place open?" We nod yes, in collective shock. The man disappears around the bend, stumbling, unable to focus. We all stare, unable to comprehend. Not watching where the man goes.

If we had been 45 seconds earlier, my Ryan would have been in that truck.

The police get here, we all come to our senses. It's too late. The guy? He didn't go in the pizza place. He ran away. What does this mean? Another drunk driver gets away. Can't charge him with drinking if you can't find him. Leaving the scene of an accident. Maybe his license will be taken away. Maybe.

At least he doesn't have a car.

Ironically, a friend of Ryan's was following the driver as soon as they left the bar. Saw him swerving on the road. Followed him. Saw the crash.

A neighbour steps up, says he saw that same car yesterday jumping curbs and swerving around the street.

A 55 year old man. Does he have kids? Does he realize what he almost just did to a life? My Ryan's life?

I'm so angry with myself. Why didn't I watch to see where he was going? Why didn't any of us? We could only stare at the scenes around us in disbelief. Not even thinking that the man would run.

Leaving him with what? A fine? Some money to pay? No vehicle? Maybe for a time.

How long before he's on the road again?

How long before he's going to change someone else's life?



<<::>>
The progression of time. - Saturday, Nov. 03, 2007
A year later... - Friday, Aug. 04, 2006
I'm an Irish hooker with an apple obsession - Thursday, Apr. 14, 2005
Ending this interruption of time - Friday, Feb. 18, 2005
Kim - Sunday, Nov. 07, 2004





navigate

current
archive
book

book
about

profile
bio
extras

rings
reviews
design
host