Cold autumn breezes up my pants
Thursday, Sept. 26, 2002 :: 10:22 a.m.

Yesterday morning the alarm went off, I got out of bed, trudged to the bathroom, showered, brushed my teeth, put clothes on and wandered into the kitchen where...suddenly...I woke up. Really woke up. You know those kind of mornings? The ones where you're sure you showered and got dressed, because you smell nice and you're wearing pants, but you can't remember it all that well?

So I'm standing there in the kitchen doing the What the Hell dance, which involves flailing the arms a bit and spinning around to make sure the pants are not on backwards, likewise for the shirt, the bra's not crooked, the teeth are really brushed, and if I actually shaved those armpits.

After confirmation that I was indeed intact and ready for presentation to the public, I patted myself on the back for being a genius when sleeping, and skipped out the door.

Well, it turns out I didn't really wash my hair, because halfway through the day it started behaving all greasy-like.

Now, I envy most people in the respect that they can skip hair washing a day and still have pretty hair. However, I am not one of them. I skip one day, and it looks like I've been camping for weeks and attacked by wild boars. Well, maybe not the wild boars part, but I really felt I had to add that.

So I guess I'm not really genius material in the mornings. Way to burst my bubble, Ms. Greasy Head.

In other news, it's frickin cold here and my roomate won't stop opening up the goddamn windows. I don't know what's with this guy. I wake up in the mornings, shivering, trying to hop from carpet to carpet to keep from stepping on cold lenolium floors (thus avoiding the kitchen altogether...and FOOD...which might make me a little less GRUMPY) frantically searching for soft warm slippers, when cold, cold, COLD drafts of air slide up my flannel pants and make me scream bloody murder while running to the bathroom only to discover there that the toilet water has frozen over and the shower door is iced shut. Running from the bathroom in utter dismay, I slam window after window and crank the heat, and hover over the heating vent until the warm, blessed air fills the house with wonderfulness.

But it never fails. By 7pm tonight the windows will be wide open again.

I'm a big fan of fresh air. But fact is, it can come through slightly opened windows just as nicely as it can through wide open ones. Also, I love autumn. I love the smell in the air, the crispy leaves at my feet, and the colours all around me. It's my most favourite season. However, fridgid fall breezes can stay OUTSIDE where they belong. They do not belong in my bathroom. A little in the bedroom, a little in the kitchen, but NOT the bathroom. NOT in a place where you have to get naked. It's just wrong. If it was supposed to be as cold in the bathroom as it is outside, we wouldn't bother with clothes, we'd just wear towels wherever we went.

If this keeps up, I swear I'm nailing the windows shut.



<<::>>
The progression of time. - Saturday, Nov. 03, 2007
A year later... - Friday, Aug. 04, 2006
I'm an Irish hooker with an apple obsession - Thursday, Apr. 14, 2005
Ending this interruption of time - Friday, Feb. 18, 2005
Kim - Sunday, Nov. 07, 2004





navigate

current
archive
book

book
about

profile
bio
extras

rings
reviews
design
host